FHA, USDA, VA ... What?

A government-backed mortgage is typically referred to by the initials of the sponsoring government body. The three types are: Federal Housing Administration (FHA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), and the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).

Family standing on porch of rural home in the winter


How Do They Work?

Government-backed mortgage loans are insured by a Federal agency, protecting the lender (radius) in the event that the borrower can't repay the debt. Because of this, we're able to offer lower interest rates than some other loan programs, as well as low down payment requirements. Some as low as 3.5 percent!

Woman in wheelchair meeting with loan officer


Different Requirements

Because these loans are insured by government agencies, there are different eligibility requirements and cost structures. For example: USDA loans are for people buying a home in an eligible rural area and VA loans are reserved for military personnel and their families. For a full breakdown of requirements and costs, reach out to one of our Loan Officers.

Connect with a Loan Officer for Specifics →
Happy couple sitting on front porch
Navigating the First-Time Home-Buying Process

Want to learn more about the homebuying process?

It’s important to understand the facts and the myths about the home-buying process and realize that there is no one-size-fits-all approach to getting approved for a mortgage loan.

Get the Guide

radius is here to help you

We're licensed in many states across the United States, but loan programs vary from state to state; so talking to a loan officer licensed in your planned state of purchase is a must.


Our Loan Officers

Stay Connected with radius

Subscribe to the radius blog using the form below.